#3-Daily Slokas for Kids

1  Gurur-Brahmaa Gurur-Vissnnur-Gururdevo Maheshvarah |
   Gurur Saakshaat Param Brahma Tasmai Shrii-Gurave Namah ||


 The Guru is Brahma, the Guru is Vishnu, the Guru Deva is Maheswara (Shiva),
 The Guru is Verily the Para-Brahman (Supreme Brahman); Salutations to that Guru.

2. Gaja-[A]ananam Bhuuta-Ganna-[A]adi Sevitam
Kapittha Jambuu-Phala-Saara Bhakssitam
Umaa-Sutam Shoka Vinaasha-Kaarannam
Namaami Vighne[a-I]shvara Paada-Pangkajam ||


(I Salute) Sri Gajananam ( Who is having an Elephant Face ), Who is Served by the Bhuta Ganas (Celestial Attendants or Followers) and Others,  Who Eats the Core of Kapittha (Wood Apple) and Jambu (Rose Apple) Fruits,  Who is the Son of Devi Uma (Devi Parvati) and the Cause of Destruction of Sorrows,  I Prostrate at the Lotus-Feet of Vigneshwara ( the God Who Removes Obstacles ).

3. Shadananam kumkuma raktha varnam,
Mahaamadhim divya mayura vaahanam.
Rudrasya soonam, sura sainya natham,
Guham satha, sharanam aham prabadhyey.


I always take refuge in Guha of six faces (Subramanya), who is of deep red color like kumkuma, who possesses great knowledge, who has the divine peacock to ride on, who is the son of Rudra (Siva), and who is the leader of the army of the devas (gods and angels).

4.  Sivam Sivakaram Santham
Sivathmanam Sivothamam
Sivamarga Pranetharam
Pranathosmi Sadasivam

5.  Sarva mangala mangalye shive sarvaartha saadhike
Sharanye trayambake Gauri Narayani namosthute


Oh Goddess who is a giver of all good things, who is peaceful, who is a giver of all wealth, who can be relied upon, who has three eyes and who is golden in colour, Our salutations to you, Narayani

6. Srushti sthithi vinasanam sakthi bhoothe, sanathani,
Gunasraye, gunamaye, Narayani namosthute


Hey goddess who is the power behind creation, upkeep and destruction. Hey goddess who is for ever, who is depended upon by three characters of Sathva, Rajas and Thamas and who is filled with all good characteristics, Our salutations to you, Narayani


Download Here

13 thoughts on “#3-Daily Slokas for Kids

  1. great….many who ritually chant these mantras do not understand the meaning and thereby make mistakes in the pronunciation.

  2. I am going to try to teach bhajans to my autistic son who likes music but still does not speak fluently and pronounce correctly. Please add some more small 2 line ones.

  3. Sa,Ri,Ga,Ma,Pa,Dha,Ni – Saptha swaras in carnatic music and Muladhara, Swadistana, Manipuraka, Anahata, Vishudda, Ajna, Sahasrara – Seven chakras in human body. Then why seven chakras generally called as “Shat chakras” (I think shat means 6 only).

  4. The six centres are muladhara, swadhisthana, manipura, anahata, vishuddha and ajna. The seventh chakra called as the Sahasrara chakra (the Crown Chakra) is inside the brain . Because it is in the brain, and not along the spinal column, it is not counted with the other six centres. It is the supreme chakra and final destination of kundalini energy. Hence the chakras are generally termed as Shat Chakras.

  5. Hi Anuradha,
    thanks for creating a lovely blog filled with music. I tried to download the music files under carnatic singing lessons. I get a message saying”Visit soundcloud.com to listen to this content”. I am not able to hear or download the files. Kindly help.

    • Please check whether soundcloud url is blocked in your computer. I think you have to google and find out how it can be unblocked. One of my students had the same problem and she said she solved it..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s